Mushroom, spinach and baked eggs

Phew, I have just finished my exams *big relief* and it feels like holidays all over again. I get to sleep for 14 hours straight, no alarm woooo hoooo, then fool around, facebook, watch movie, eat and there goes my perfectly useless day, how enjoyable! There’s this Italian expression that I’ve picked up in my favourite book “Eat, pray, love”: bel far niente, which means the beauty of doing nothing. Isn’t it just nice to treat yourselves once in a while, to just lie around, worry nothing and be the lazy bum that one’s always wanted to be? That’s me, for the rest of this week ^^

Having all those golden spare time yet I’m not cooking anything fancy, just some carrot soup to keep me warm & alive, and those bread pudding that I baked yesterday (right after exams as a stress-relief remedy) is not really something to be proud of either (I’ll update when I finally find my perfect bread pudding recipe). So I’m just gonna post some recipes that I’ve tried out days and days and days ago, gotta beat that laziness somehow.

IMG_3372

I saw this mushroom, spinach and baked eggs somewhere while I just randomly browsed recipes online. It was immediately spot on as something different, while being another version of the same old bread and eggs for mornings. Tasty and full of nutrition, this is a perfect start for a day, and this is so easy it won’t ever fail you. I made this twice, one as starter for dinner, and one as breakfast. It was overcooked the first time, and instead of beautiful egg yolks flowing out, the eggs turned out to be this weird, hard thing which surprised me so much. Rule of thumb: don’t ever overbake your eggs.

IMG_3370

Mushroom, spinach and baked eggs

INGREDIENTS:

  • Slices of bread
  • Chestnut mushroom, washed and sliced
  • Spinach, washed and drained
  • Onion, chopped
  • Egg
  • Milk
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cheese (optional)

IMG_3356

METHOD:

  • Preheat the over to 180 C
  • Butter the ovenproof dish and lay slices of bread in, overlapping the edges of each other

IMG_3357

  • In a pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat
  • Add the onion and saute until soft. Add in the mushroom and continue to cook, stirring occasionally. Add in spinach and lightly season with salt & pepper. Cook until the spinach leaves are wilted

IMG_3359

  • Turn off heat and pour the vegetable mixture onto the dish
  • Make a hole in the middle and crack an egg inside (more eggs if you make a big portion)
  • Pour the milk over the top and bake for about 20-25 minutes

IMG_3362

  • Top with some parmesan cheese to serve

And done! (Overbaked again dear me >”<) Gladly it’s still moist, the egg yolk has not set that much and the smell of mushroom is so irresistable. Can someone make me this tomorrow? ^v^

IMG_3367

Look how beautiful the dish is under a bright clear day. Enjoy with a cup of good tea and a nice book. Have a good day everyone : )

IMG_3384

Cause today I swear I’m not doing anything

Nothing at all

3 thoughts on “Mushroom, spinach and baked eggs

  1. Pingback: Mushroom, Spinach and Baked Eggs Via My Kitchen of Love | FOODIEZ-eatzFOODIEZ-eatz

Leave a Reply

