Yaki Udon

lunapic_137196304388292_2

I have been going out for 6 out of 7 days this week, and all for: ‘Your exams’s over, enjoy yourself a bit‘, ‘You don’t have anything to do anyway‘ or ‘Just go somewhere for a drink & chit chat, I’m leaving soon anyway’ sort of invitations, all the reasons that I can’t make an excuse myself to just stay at home. It’s really nice hanging out with friends (some of whom I didn’t see for the whole year, though we lived 15 minutes apart) & I was having such good times reconnecting with people & enjoying life, but being very much an indoor person like I am, going out everyday is simply too much. I sleep late every nights, and with some cocktails here and there, my skin has become really bad in just a week. I was completely overwhelmed by this sudden change of lifestyle.

Listen to my weird complaints, even I think I must be a nutcase. But if you lead a quiet life as I am, and having constantly stressed out for the whole 2 months (or more), all that constitutes as ‘relaxing’ for me doesn’t involve going out. I love staying at home in my sloppy look, singing along to a good playlist while baking in a gloomy day (typical English weather), happily enjoy a movie or a novel in bed with a cup of tea and go to sleep early. Going out is fun, but staying at home is pure bliss. I’m just getting weirder by day =.=”.

Anyway, I just terribly need some comfort food right now, so shall we go back to my Asian trait today – noodles (although Udon really doesn’t have anything to do with Vietnamese food culture ^^). Yaki Udon is the simplest and easiest one out of all Udon I think. It’s just stir fried Udon in soy-based sauce, with variations of meat, seafood and vegetables, which we can quickly whip up at home any time, like today?

IMG_4264

Yaki Udon

INGREDIENTS: (for 1)

  • 1 pack of udon
  • 3-4 king prawns
  • 100g pork belly, sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1/4 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 bell pepper (any colour you love), deseeded and thinly sliced
  • 2 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • Green onions, cut into 1 inch long
  • Ginger, thinly sliced
  • 60g beansprout

Seasoning:

  • 1 1/2 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs mirin
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • pepper

To garnish:

  • Nori (dried seaweed), thinly cut (optional)
  • Sesame seed (optional)
  • Beni Shoga (Japanese pickled ginger), thinly sliced (optional)

IMG_4247

METHOD:

  • To prepare udon, pour them into boiled water for about 3 minutes, drain and refresh under cold running water. Leave aside.

IMG_4248

  • In a wok (too bad I don’t have one, let’s just use a usual frying pan then), heat some vegetable oil on medium high heat, add in garlic and onion, saute for about 2 minutes until onion starts to become transparent, then add in bell pepper and stir fry for another 2 minutes.

1

  • Add in pork belly, sprinkle a bit of salt to season. Then add prawn, mushroom, green onion, ginger and stir fry for a couple more minutes.

2

  • Then add in udon over the meat and vegetables, season with all the seasoning, then beansprout (I like my beansprout not too soft, hence it goes in last). Stir for another 2 minutes, check the seasoning, add more soy sauce or salt if necessary, then turn off heat.

3

  • Place onto a plate, garnish and ready to go.

IMG_4262

By all means, do adjust the ingredients and the taste as you like. If you particularly like something, just add in, or add more (I love beansprout).
IMG_4266

On a completely irrelevant matter, does any of you watch The Voice UK Final last night? I have grown to become such a huge fan of the show, mainly for the charisma of the judges and the wonderful singing of the contestants, of course. I love love love this performance of Leah with Will.I.am soooooooo much, it was super dope, the most entertaining song of the whole series, lol.

2 thoughts on “Yaki Udon

  1. Staying home all weekend is my idea of a good weekend. I do feel a little guilty though. I haven’t cooked dinner in 4 nights and I’m going out for dinner tonight. I find late nights and eating badly one week means I’m certain to feel sick the week after. So take care, get some sleep and eat well. I love your noodle dish. I always try and keep some udon in my pantry. Cheap and filling and you can pretty much just add a bit of this and that and you’ve got a meal. I also like to add a fried egg on top.

    • Thank you Genie. That is why I’m definitely gonna spend this whole week curl up at home, such comfy feeling ^^ I life fried egg in my udon as well. I kept having a feeling that I missed out on sth when I cooked this udon, and didn’t realise the egg until I start digging in, forgetful me :D

Leave a Reply

