Chilli tuna spaghetti

Growing up in a country where rice and noodles are main cuisines, spaghetti has soon become a mesmerising subject to me. Same goes to my sister, as soon as we caught the first sight of it, I guess it runs in the family. However, my relationship with spaghetti has gone rather bland in recent years, when I discovered that it was indeed too simple to produce a quick, edible version of pasta. When things are too easy, it gets boring very quickly.

But I didn’t wanna give up on my love just yet, so I tried and tried, to have more fun trying out various recipes to cook spaghetti in many interesting ways. Take an example of this chilly tuna spaghetti recipe from John West site, which makes use of the left over John West tuna chunks can. How is that for a quick advert of the brand? ^^ 

IMG_2232

When I first saw this, I thought to myself ‘Hmmm, an interesting combination of Western and Eastern taste’, sesame oil and spaghetti, they don’t really seem to match. But this, surprisingly turns out to be a rather good dish, which enables me to finish up my greatest enemy of all time – fish. I put in some chick peas to ensure enough veggies per meal, while sweet chilli adds a special tangy note to the spaghetti. 

IMG_2234

Chilli tuna spaghetti

INGREDIENTS:

  • Tin of tuna chunks in sunflower oil, drained
  • Spaghetti, boiled and drained
  • Sesame, sunflower oil
  • Spring onion, finely sliced
  • Garlic, chopped
  • Toasted sesame seeds
  • Tin of chick peas, drained
  • Sweet chilli sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste

METHOD:

  • Drizzle the cooked spaghetti with some sesame oil, set aside
  • In a frying pan, heat the sunflower oil, add in sesame seeds, spring onion & garlic and stir until they are fragant
  • Add the tuna chunks, chick peas, then sweet chilli sauce and gently stir for a couple of minutes
  • Toss in the spaghetti, mix well and season to taste with salt and pepper

Voila, here you have a quick, simple yet tasty and different dish for your family meal. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chilli tuna spaghetti

Leave a Reply

