Korean fried chicken or my version of Bonchon chicken

Funny enough, one of the things I miss most about New York is Bonchon chicken. Not only because of its perfectly crispy chicken with such unique sauce, but also because it has become a beautiful fragment of our memories. It was my second New Year Eve spent with Meo and I got all excited about having my first countdown ever in Times Square, and guess where we’ve sat through the night? A Bonchon chicken restaurant with that huge cocktail that we could not finished, listened to the hype outside as broadcasted live on the TV, texted each other & giggled till midnight. I feel like time has frozen at that very moment, right at the very end of 2011.

I didn’t get to see the oh-so-famous countdown of New York, but only tiny bits of fireworks display from afar while people wow-ing and ooh-ing. We left even before it finished, to avoid the crowd. London fireworks that year was surprisingly spectacular, to welcome the 2012 Olympics I guess, hence added more to the unnecessary worries of Meo that I wasn’t having a good time. I laughed it off and told him I was more than happy, I’m not sure if he really knows, being with the one I love on New Year Eve, it’s the best feelings, and I don’t really care if my wish of seeing the countdown hasn’t really been granted. It was a night to remember. And I’m pretty sure I’ll get to be back to New York one day, so no fuss.

IMG_2291

Long story short, I could never forget that sweet taste of Bonchon chicken, even though I only had it twice *gutted*. While letting the taste of that special dish melt in my mouth, I kept wondering how is it that the sauce doesn’t soften the crunch of the skin, I found it magical! Silly me who never does anything deep fried before. And I could not find them anywhere in England, other Korean fried chicken, however good they might be, just doesn’t taste the same. So as long as I’m back, I started to do some searching for my perfect recipe. So, through some trials and demo, I came up with this one what I’m (fairly) satisfied with. Of course with much help from this video to somehow figure out the components. I wasn’t that gifted in cooking *sigh*.

This recipe is a bit different than usual if you notice. I have the precise amount of all the ingredients, just so I don’t have to reproduce the sauce everytime I make this chicken. I over-fry them on this occasion I think, they’re a bit dryer than they’re supposed to be, nevertheless, they are sooooo good I couldn’t refrain my appetite

IMG_2287

Bonchon chicken replica

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6 chicken wings

For the coating:

  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tbs glutinous rice flour
  • 2 tsp chicken granulate, or salt

For the sauce:

  • 3 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs water
  • 2 tsp mirin
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 1/2 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • Garlic & ginger, chopped
  • Chilli flakes (optional)

METHOD:

  • Rinse the chicken well under water, soak them in cold water for a while, repeat that process the second time, pat dry with a paper tower
  • Mix all the coating ingredients into a large mixing bowl, or the way I do it is to put them in a sandwich bag, put the chicken in, seal then shake well. It’s easy, doesn’t stir up some flour dust for your beloved worktop and the chicken is evenly coated

  • Heat the oil 180 Celcius degree, or gas mark 5 in a deep frying pan, and fry the chicken in small batches for about 10 minutes, until they are lightly golden and crispy

  • Take them out and shake them off in a strainer, lined with some kitchen paper towel to get rid of excess oil. Leave cool for about 5 minutes
  • Meanwhile, prepare the sauce by putting all the ingredients in a small pot, taste again and boil them until the sauce has reduced for a bit, let cool

  • Re-fry the chicken for another 10 minutes, drain on paper towels
  • Put the freshly fried chicken in the sauce pan, gently mix evenly with a wooden spoon

IMG_2280
This chicken is super crispy while the meat remains tender, brushed with a light glaze of ginger soy sauce, balancing the sweetness and sourness of honey and mirin. It’s a series of contrasting flavour yet complimenting each other, making the taste unique and additive. Personally I think Korea tops the chart of fried chicken ❤

2 thoughts on “Korean fried chicken or my version of Bonchon chicken

Leave a Reply

