Chicken stock

Claiming myself to be a food lover & a homecook, yet all the big names in the culinary world remains unknown to me. I followed quite a lot of food bloggers, read hundreads of recipes, yet I hardly ever watch any cooking video nor any cooking show, with the exception of Masterchef Australia but it was only because the telly was on & I was dead bored. So, long story short, I don’t have a culinary idol, not that I know any famous chef’s name.

So, on a day like this, I proudly announce that I now take my path as a homecook more seriously, starting with my admiration towards – and noone other than – Chef Gordon Ramsay. For some reason I can’t seem to fathom, I got hooked on his cookbook as soon as I laid my eyes on it, like how I did with some of my novels, or my phone. Many of my things are bought on love at first sight, and this was no exception.

I wouldn’t say this book is brilliant, or one of the kind or anything as such, it’s just special in its own way, probably because it was the first cookbook I ever bought for myself and from the chef that I have so much respect for. His skill amazed me on so many level & I can’t seem to take my eyes of his movement in the kitchen, it was with such speed & grace way beyond anything I’ve ever seen. And bam, just like that, chef Gordon & his shows take over my timetable, now I’m just busy watching him all the time.

As I finally found my inspiration, I’m starting to practice on improving not only my cooking, but also my food preparation & basic skill in the kitchen. So let’s crack on with some chicken stock, which is super easy to make & bring a real difference to your dishes. I’ve never made any kind of stock before, mostly I use stock cube or just plain water when the recipe calls for any necessary. I might have made a huge mistake. The stock, especially homemade stock, brings out more depth and add sensational aroma towards the food, let it be sauces, or soup.

You could find the step-by-step video from Gordon Ramsay Cookalong. Stock could be made in big batch then divided into smaller portion and frozen well for up to 6 months, even though it might lose some of its flavour if you leaves it that long. It’s best to freeze in plastic container, or air tight bag, or ice cube trays for little use. Stock that is left to store in the refrigerator should be consumed within the next 4 days. So, no rush, make it anytime and it sure goes a long way.

You could use the chicken part with lots of bones, such as knuckles or neck. You don’t even need fresh chicken carcass to make the stock, in fact, leftover from a roast dish would gives the stock a darker colour and richer flavour. And the stock is a great way to absorb all those vegetable goodness without having to eat them (even onion & leeks, yay!)

Chicken stock

INGREDIENTS: 

  • Chicken carcass
  • Onion, peeled & quartered
  • Leeks & celery, cut into chunks
  • Carrots, roughly chopped
  • Garlic, halved
  • Peppercorn, lightly crushed
  • Sprig of thyme
  • Bay leaves
  • Fresh parsley
  • Pinch of salt

METHOD:

  • Put all the igredients into a large pot
  • Pour cold water into it & bring to boil as quickly as possible

  • Skim away any impurities, for a clear stock
  • Let it simmer for about 30-40 minutes
  • Set a sieve over another large pot, pour the stock through the sieve, discard all the remaining debris

There we have our amazing chicken stock, easy & cooked effortlessly in no time. It makes a perfect base for many dishes. And that aromatic scent lingers in my room for several days ^.^

Leave a Reply

