Walnut brownies

 IMG_3429

I was fooling around and Skype-ing with Meo yesterday when I bumped into my flatmate and was informed of a hotpot dinner later at a friend’s place. 2 hours to go normally wouldn’t be my ideal condition to decide to bake something but I did anyway. I thought of some matcha cupcakes at first (since the host loves matcha & the last batch of cupcakes that I made for her was ‘beautifully’ burned -.-‘) but then only 2 hours, and I’m still on Skype, I haven’t dressed and those cupcakes better be frosted to look special. So I went for brownies, wasn’t that hard of a decision to make anyway. After all, it was quick, easy to make and everyone loves something sweet, something chocolatey.

IMG_3421

I used this recipe which belonged to Deeba of Passionate about baking with some minor changes. Obviously, I’ve felt in love with this recipe and decided to have a shot at it a loooooooong time ago that I don’t even recall myself, because it somehow was already in my super long list of bookmarks when I did some Google-ing. She described these brownies as dense and gooey, somehow mine turned out to be moist and dense, yes, but a bit cake-like texture with this crunchy top and the compliment nutty flavour of walnuts (and a mixture of many nuts that I sprinkled on top). I would say it was a HIT, at least for me. My friends all loved them, they went right down after dinner, and funny how afterwards, they asked for the recipe of the bread pudding that I brought along, it was way too sweet in my taste. Hmmmm, I didn’t see that coming at all, my friends have a much more sweeter tooth than mine. Anyway, I still love these brownies so much, they definitely were a keeper, maybe I’ll show them off some other time.

 IMG_3433

I used Green and Black chocolate and Hersheys cocoa powder and it sure made a real difference. So some top tips on making a perfect brownie: always use good quality chocolate and cocoa.

Walnut brownies

IMG_3438

INGREDIENTS:

  • 100g dark chocolate
  • 1/3 cup light olive oil
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts, chopped

METHOD:

  • Pre heat the oven to 190 C
  • Grease and dust a 12″ x 8 ” pan
  • In a medium bowl, microwave chocolate and olive oil for 1 minutes, then stir well with a spoon, making sure that chocolate is melted and well blended
  • In another medium bowl, sift and mix the flour, cocoa powder and salt

1

  • In a large bowl, beat eggs, sugar and vanilla extract for about 5 minutes until they are pale and fluffy. Pour in the chocolate mixture, mix well. Finally fold in the flour mixture until just incorporated. The batter should come out pretty thick

2

  • Add walnuts and blend well
  • Pour the batter into the prepared pan, sprinkle some nuts on top (optional) and bake for 20 minutes, or until the toothpick comes out clean 

IMG_3427

Brownies surely top my list of ‘guilty pleasure’. That joy of biting a mouthful of chocolate goodness, knowing how unhealthy it might be & how it might lead me back into those chocolate ‘devouring’ days, but who cares. To all chocolate lovers out there, I salute you! :3

If life’s knocking you down, if you’re having a bad day, or simply just because it’s raining, brownies are your quick fix, and that yummmmmm factor would wow you away from all the troubles and weariness of life. I promise. Here I go, grabbing another bite ~

IMG_3441

As they say

l_9335bc00-873a-11e1-abce-019772c00004

2 thoughts on “Walnut brownies

  1. Thank you for baking those. Maybe if you baked them for just about 18 minutes, and let them finish off in the oven, they might have been gooey {I think everey oven just behaves differently}. Glad you liked them though, and the friends liked the ‘bread pudding’…LOL! Love the way you wrote the post, and yes I agree, “Keep CALM, and eat a brownie!!”. Well said!

Leave a Reply

