Quiche lorraine

Quiche anyone?

IMG_4174After a day working my brain to its max level in the exams room, I then spend the next day working my arms to its full potential, by making pie crust for the first time. And I thought kneading bread dough was a pain in the butt already, obviously, I couldn’t be more wrong. All for the stupidity of rigidly following the recipe, spending like an hour just to knead the super dry dough, then it suddenly dawn upon me, that I should add more water until the desired consistency. And voila, after an hour or more of frustration, I can finally put my arms to rest. My flour is obviously very thirsty, it drinks up a hell of a lot water. So, lesson learnt: most of the time, it depends on how you see & feel, adjusting the flour and water until it feels ‘right’.

IMG_4173

Anyway, I made pie crust for the first time everyone. Yippie!!!!! I don’t normally enjoy pie or tart that much, it’s generally to dry for me, except for quiche (Is quiche a pie everyone? Or a tart?). My earliest contact with quiche was before I came to England, and my best friend’s mom, who is a cook, made me something pretty close to quiche lorraine. I loved it so much that for several years after, every summer I came back to Vietnam for holidays, she still made the dish for me. I haven’t been home for 2 years now *sob*. Anyway, that’s my quiche story, I don’t like any other than quiche lorraine, they just don’t feel ‘right’ for me, except for the salmon version my friend made the other day in London, yum yum, I’ll ask for her recipe & make it the next time.

And here’s the ultimate quiche lorraine recipe by Angela Nilsen that I’ve been eyeing for months now. It sure deserves the name ‘ultimate’ recipe. The texture is very creamy and light with the addition of crème fraiche, so much to my taste. Instead of lardon I used bacon joint, slice and cube it, and it adds the ‘smoky’ element which overall enhance the flavour of the quiche. Be very sparing with the salt, I even forgot the salt until it’s almost set that I realised the fatal mistake which might ruin my 3 hours of effort. But it turns out, just perfect!

IMG_4167

Pastry

INGREDIENTS:

  • 175 g plain flour
  • 100 g cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 4-8 tsp water

METHOD:

  • Put all the ingredients into a food processor, press pulse button until the mix binds. Without a food processor, you can folllow this video

  • Tip the pastry onto the slightly flour surface, and knead until it forms a small smooth ball

1

  • Roll out as thin as you can. Then carefully place it over the flan tin. Using your finger tips, carefully pressing & easing the dough into the base

2

  • Use a scissors to trim the pastry edge so it sits slightly above the tin. Lightly prick the pastry and leave to rest for 10 minutes
  • Preheat the oven to 200C/fan 180
  • Line the pastry with foil, shiny side down and fill it with baking beans. Tuck the beans more towards the corner of the tin, they are where the pastry tends to rise the most

IMG_4157

  • Bake on the hot baking sheet for 15 minutes, carefully remove the foil and bake for a further 5 more minutes or so, until golden. Take them out and they’re ready for the filling

IMG_4160

Filling

INGREDIENTS:

  • 200 g lardons, or bacon
  • 50 g Gruyère
  • 200 ml crème fraiche
  • 200 ml double cream
  • 3 eggs, well beaten

METHOD:

  • Turn the oven down to 190C/fan 170
  • Heat a small frying pan, tip in the lardons and fry for a couple of minutes. Drain off any fat/liquid that came out of the lardons and continue frying until the lardon turns coloured, but not crisp. Remove and drain on a paper towel
  • Cut 3/4 of the cheese until small dice & finely grate the rest
  • Beat the crème fraiche a bit to slacken, then beat in the double cream and lastly, the well beaten eggs. Season a bit

IMG_4161

  • To fill, scatter the diced cheese and lardons over the pie crust, then pour 3/4 of the filling into the pastry base

3

  • Half-pull the oven shelf out, place the flan tin into the baking sheet, then quickly pour the rest of the filling into the pastry case. Sprinkle the rest of the grated cheese on top and bake for about 25-30 minutes, until golden and softly set
  • Let the quiche settle for about 5 minutes and remove from the tin 

IMG_4178
This quiche could be serve well with salad, to tone the greasiness and fatness down a bit. And you’re looking at my dinner for 3 days ^^ So much for a student in exams.

IMG_4189

(I take these pictures at around 8pm and I’m soo lazy to set up background as well. So not happy with these photos’ quality, they don’t do my first quiche justice >”<)

Have a good rest everyone! It’s Bank holidays tomorrow ^^

Love,

Phuong x

2 thoughts on “Quiche lorraine

  1. Looks yummy. I’ve always been a bit frightened of baking. One time I blind baked a pie crust, I used rice and I didn’t realise that the foil/paper between the rice and pastry was compulsory. All the rice sunk into the pastry and it was ruined. Lesson learned.

    • I made countless mess in my kitchen too, even though I read so many tips before starting anything. Lessons have to be learnt through failure (& lots of cleaning afterwards) I guess :p

Leave a Reply

