Salmon fillet with crushed potatoes and tarragon butter

Hi everyone, I’m back!!!!!!!

My exams is officially over and at last, I’m a free girl. It didn’t end with a high note as I expected, and instead, I got a migraine as a farewell gift. I was beaten to pulp by my own brain, lied in bed for 2 days & gutted for all the wasted effort. It was the most horrendous experience of my life (so far). In those novels that I read, people sometimes got ‘migraine’ and some even fainted (the main character, of course, and get all the care of the other main character, of course). It used to sound like a myth to me, I never knew a mere headache could hurt this much before. Have anyone of you ever got one?

However, there was nothing I could do now but let bygone be bygone, and before another nightmare (namely ‘dissertation’) starts, I better indulge myself in a lot of cooking to make up for the 3kg lost. My BMI is only about 17 something now. I’m super underweight now, I should star in my own thriller movie as a walking skeleton >”< So do excuse me if you find myself cooking a lot of fatty stuff from now onward. I haven’t cooked anything for almost 3 weeks now, and was really craving for my own comfort food. Everyday as my source of entertainment and relaxation, I browse lots and lots of recipes, then praying for the exams to end soon, just so I could spend the whole day cooking at my usual speed of a turtle. And so I start this ‘recooking’ journey with ‘Salmon fillet with tarragon butter’, something I’ve been eyeing for a month (or so) and can’t remember where I’ve seen the recipe.

lunapic_137165433131586_6

Salmon fillet with crushed potatoes and tarragon butter

INGREDIENTS: (for 2)

For the butter: (should be enough for 4)

  • 100g butter, softened
  • 2 small garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • Tarragon, chopped

For the salmon:

  • 2 salmon fillets
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to season

For the potatoes:

  • 12-14 baby new potatoes
  • Knob of butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Basil, chopped

METHOD:

  • Place garlic in the oven, roast for about 5 minutes until soft and fragant, peel of the skin. In a small bowl, mix together butter, tarragon, lemon juice and garlic, cover and leave in the fridge to set (an hour or more).

IMG_4206

  • Brush the salmon with some olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and grill in the oven for about 10 minutes. Otherwise, you can roast it at 200 C.

2

  • Meanwhile, boil the potatoes, then crush coarsely with a masher or the back of a fork
  • Melt a knob of butter in a pan, toss in potatoes with some salt and pepper to taste, sauté until the edge is golden and crisp

1

  • When the salmon is ready to serve, place the potatoes on a plate, sprinkle with some chopped basil. Place the salmon on top and top with tarragon butter (as much as you like). 

IMG_4213

I’m in love with this dish, maybe it’s because of the butter that makes the whole difference to the taste of the salmon, rich with a lovely hint of tarragon on top and basil underneath, or maybe just because I’m a fan of salmon and potatoes, I’ll enjoy them whichever way they’re cooked.

3

I’ve been loving this song since The Voice UK last week, been playing it over and over again. it’s the final this week, I’m well excited, gonna vote for Leah ^^ Watching & voting anyone? Wish you all have a lovely week of good food & good music : )

Love,

Phuong x

2 thoughts on “Salmon fillet with crushed potatoes and tarragon butter

Leave a Reply

