Langues de chat ~ Cat’s tongue

IMG_43091

What do you do when there’s plenty of leftover egg whites? The easiest and quickest way to use up all that is a good batch of cat’s tongue cookies, which also go by a very elegant French name of ‘Langues de chat‘. I guess the name speaks for itself how the cookie should look like: thin and long. But still, I wonder why it’s not called ‘dog’s tongue’ or ‘any-other-animal’s tongue’.

These cookies are very buttery, they even gave me a headache baking. I love the smell of butter but get a light headache from smelling too much of that, same goes for chocolate drinks and coffee, a baker who has reactions to butter, that’s me >”< Anyway, my point is that, if you love butter, you’ve got to love cat’s tongue. They are buttery, crunchy and not overly sweet, which is perfect for tea, or coffee, or even tap water ^^ There’s a tiny problem: they disappear pretty quickly 😀

IMG_4310

Langues de Chat

INGREDIENTS:

  • 130 g butter, at room temperature
  • 120 g caster sugar
  • 100 g egg whites (about 3 eggs)
  • 130 g all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven to 200 C. Place baking paper onto a baking sheet
  • Sift flour and salt a few times, leave aside
  • Cream butter and sugar using an electric mixer with a paddle (or a whisk of a hand mixer) until pale and fluffy
  • Beat egg whites into the butter mixture, one at a time

1

  • Add the vanilla
  • Scrape down the sides of the bowl then gradually add in flour and salt, 1/3 at a time. Mix until just incorporated

2

You will get a rather thick and stiff batter, looking like this:

IMG_4291

  • Put the batter into a piping bag, and pipe onto the sheet in a small, long shape of about 1 cm wide and 7-8 cm long, leaving a gap of about 3-4 cm between each

IMG_4294

  • Bake for 8-10 minutes, take out of the oven and let cool. It will be quite soft at first, then quickly turn crispy. Bend the cookies while they’re still hot & soft, you’ll get tuile (that’s another story, for next time ^^) 

IMG_4299

IMG_4296
The most efficient way  to bake when you have several batches is to have 2 baking sheets ready. When baking one sheet, pipe the cookie into another, and take turns. Depends on the size of difference batches that you adjust the time of baking accordingly. It’s best to check after about 9 minutes, then decide whether it’s done or how long it should be baked more. The cookies are done when they have nice, golden rim. I was too focused on taking photos I completely forgot about my last batch, until I smell something burnt. Luckily, the fire alarm didn’t set off! Here it is, my yet-another-baking-failure:

IMG_4311

I guess I am somewhat a cat person, even though cats are quite demanding, pretty much just for show, attention seekers and they often have these kinds of ‘attitude’ (unlike dog). If I have a cat, I’d probably call her Sissy. But still, I love them to bits, every time I see a cat I always try to communicate with her. Not sure if they understands my ‘meow meow’ language, but they all kinda stare and me with that annoying look and walk away. I guess my ‘come here cutie’ have been wrongly interpreted as ‘get lost you damn fat cat’. Meo & I have even negotiated on a dog (for him), a cat (for me) and a bunny (for us) as pets for our home in the next few years, I hope we won’t have another Tom & Jerry in the house.

One day we came back from lunch, I found a baby kitten curling up in front of our house, sleeping like she’s already dead. Meo had to point out to me that she’s still breathing & probably just tired from wandering around. Isn’t she just adorable?

IMG_3994

On another story, I have recently joined a monthly blogging event called Our Growing Edge. This is a great opportunity to connect food bloggers and looks like a really fun thing to do as a hobby. This month’s host is Chandler from The Chef with red shoes. This is my very first contribution & I’m well excited.

our-growing-edge-badge

Love your cat (if you have one), or love others’ cats and enjoy your cat’s tongue ^^

Phuong x

7 thoughts on “Langues de chat ~ Cat’s tongue

  1. Pingback: Breaking Bread with Fellow Edge Growers | The International Poor Chef School Project

  2. Great post. Thanks for sharing your failures too! My baking has a way to go and it’s comforting to see that others don’t get it right first go either. These cookies remind me of the Dutch butter cookies I ate as a child.

    If I had to make a reason why there aren’t dog tongue or rabbit tongue cookies, it would be because cats tongue are dryer and scratchier. Dogs and rabbits have squishy, wet tongues. Nothing like a biscuit!

    • That is an interesting explanation! I don’t have any pet so my imaginations on their tongues are pretty limited 😀 I don’t know about Dutch butter cookies, but I also used to love those Danish butter cookies that come in a tin, can’t find them anywhere now.

Leave a Reply

