Peach pound cake to kick off summer

IMG_4415

My, my, what have we here? It’s the season of peaches woooohooooo!

This is already my second summer in England and I now know well what cheap and ripe peaches mean: It’s the start of SUMMER, the long-awaiting season that I’ve been longing every year, the only rare months that we get frequent sunshine, yummy BBQ and endless joy. Sadly, summer this year for me doesn’t promise travelling and worrying-about-anothing-but-to-enjoy-life like any other year anymore, but it still offers me long hours of sunbathing (in my room) + peaches, berries and cherries. I guess that’s about enough to keep this girl happy-go-lucky everyday.

IMG_4430

And have I stressed enough, I love peaches to bits. I love everything about them, the look, the colour, the taste, the smell, even the pit. My body scrub is also a peach-infused one to make sure I smell like a yummy, ready-to-eat fruit every Sundays stepping out of the bathroom. And so, after finishing about 3 punnets of fresh peaches, I start to search all over Google for their alternative best uses, and found plenty I don’t know which to choose and where to start. I finally could settle on one recipe, to kick off my peach baking craze and to satisfy my sweet tooth these days as well. I promise you, we will be seeing a lot of these cutesy pinky peaches from now until September.

Pound cake, shall we?

IMG_4432
Peach pound cake (adapted and modified from Allrecipes)

INGREDIENTS: (one 8×4″ loaf pan)

  • 1/2 cup (113 g) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup (150 g) granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup (192 g) plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh peaches, pitted and chopped

METHOD:

  • Preheat oven to 160 C. Line the pan with baking paper
  • Use 1/4 cup of flour to coat the peaches

1

  • Sift together the rest of the flour, baking powder and salt
  • In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 7 minutes

2

  • Add the eggs, one at a time, beat each of them until just incorporated then add vanilla extract

3

  • Add 1/2 the dry mixture, mix well, add another 1/2, mix well again then stir in the floured peaches. Note: do not overmix the batter

4

  • Pour into the pan and bake for 60-70 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. More note: do not open the oven door until the minimum time required is reached (about 55-6o minutes), then decided if the cake is needed to stay in the over for longer

IMG_4426

  • Allow the cake to cool in the tin for about 10 minutes before transferring to rack to cool completely

I have to say I’m not a huge fan of pound cake. I grew up with light, spongy, fluffy cake like Japanese cotton cheesecake, sponge cake, chiffon, so I have come to regard those as ‘benchmarks’, the kind of heavy and dense texture like pound cake or butter cake is a big ‘no no’. However, my view has considerably changed since my first ever made butter cake, and now, my first ever made pound cake. It is still dense, yes, but rich, moist, smooth & smell wonderfully of butter (gives me a headache again, of course), my friends all love it so much. However, I followed the original recipe & found that it’s a tad too sweet for me, so it’d be ideal to reduce the sugar from 1 cup to 3/4. My teeth is, after all, not that sweet you see.

IMG_4437

I made this pretty early in the morning, which is a very rare thing I assure you, I’m definitely not a morning person. All for the exams results that were gonna be out today at 10.30 am that I tossed and turned all night, counted down every single minute, nervous as a cat. At 10.29, I almost passed out in front of my laptop & still couldn’t decide which is more nerve cracking, having exams or getting exams results. Anyway, I baked to: kill time + keep me awake + keep calm, and sailed through the damn storm just like that.

Okay, enough talking. Let me now reside into my armchair and enjoy the freshly made cake with the freshly brewed tea. Life is good!

Love,

Phuong x

2 thoughts on “Peach pound cake to kick off summer

Leave a Reply

