Gordon Ramsay’s pork chop with sweet & sour peppers

IMG_4452

The first cookbook I ever owned was a gift from Meo on Women’s Day, 6 years ago I think. And I thought, that was really sweet of him but me going to the kitchen to cook? Dream on! And look at me now, practicing techniques, browsing recipes days and nights long, drooling over stacks of books which I wish I had them all. My list of ‘to-buy’ cookbooks are endless, including classics such as Mastering the Art of French cookingLarousse GastronomiqueThe French Laundry CookbookMcGee on Food and Cooking to modern, handy and beautiful books like Artisan bread in 5 minutes a dayEleven Madison ParkHummingbird Bakery Cookbook, and the list goes on and on. Sadly, I can’t afford them all, I also can’t afford to pack and unpack heavy books every year, so I keep telling myself to wait until I settle somewhere, but that doesn’t seem to happen very soon though. Being a bookaholic and a food lover as I am, I’m a bit ashamed to say that I only have 4 cookbooks in my collection and hardly cook from any of them.

For once, I decided to break the habit, and actually start cooking the recipes which I have read countless times but always ended up making something else. Of course it has to be from my culinary idol, chef Gordon Ramsay and his Ultimate Cookery Course cookbook. If you love the guy, you gotta love the series, in which he presented 100 recipes ‘to stake your life on’. I’m sure as hell I wouldn’t do that, but these recipes and his skills have impressed me on so many levels, my homemade meals have just gone up a notch simply by following the book, and surprisingly I also find that cooking along to a cookbook is so much more fun!

IMG_4449

Pork chop with peppers

INGREDIENTS: (for 2)

For the pork chop:

  • 2 pork chops
  • Olive oil, for frying
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed with skin on
  • Small bunch of thyme
  • Few knobs of butter

For the sweet & sour peppers:

  • Olive oil, for frying
  • 1 red onion, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2 red peppers, thinly sliced
  • Sea salt
  • Ground pepper
  • 1 tbs caster sugar
  • 3 tbs red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • Small bunch of basil leaves, shredded

IMG_4438

METHOD:

  • Heat some olive oil over a large frying pan on high heat, then add onion and peppers. Season with salt, pepper, sugar and saute for 4-5 minutes until soft and coloured

1

  • Add the vinegar and let it bubble for a few minutes until it has reduced
  • Turn down the heat, add the extra virgin olive oil and cook for a further 2-3 minutes
  • Stir in the shredded basil and continue to cook for 30 seconds, then turn on the heat
  • Transfer to a bowl and leave to infuse

IMG_4442

  • To prepare the pork chop, use the sharp knife to make cuts into the fat, making sure that it’s not into the meat. Season with salt & pepper on both sides, rub and push well into the skin

IMG_4444

  • Heat the frying pan over high heat until hot & add a dash of oil, then tip in the pork chops, garlic and thyme and fry for 2-3 minutes until coloured
  • Turn and fry for another 2-3 minutes, pushing the thyme under the chops and breaking up the garlic a little
  • Towards the end of cooking time, add in a generous amount of butter (you’ll love it later), lightly tilt the pan and baste the chops with melted butter as they are cooking

2

  • Transfer the chops over a plate, with herb and garlic on top, leave it to rest for 5-10 minutes, continue basting with butter now and then
  • Serve the chop on top of the peppers and onions

This dish tastes wonderful, and it doesn’t get any easier than that, does it? Simplicity indeed goes a loooooooooong way!
IMG_4450I told Meo that I’d wait till I come back then we could watch Masterchef US Season 4 together, but then, back on my infatuation with chef Ramsay, I couldn’t wait anymore and started the show without him. I could be very impatient and selfish at times, I know. 12 episodes go so quickly I am now up to speed in only 2 days, then back to Gordon Ramsay’s Ultimate Cookery Course series. I could watch it again and again and again, that’s how much in love I am with the awesome Scottish chef :p

Have a great start of the week everyone!!!

Love,

Phuong x

7 thoughts on “Gordon Ramsay’s pork chop with sweet & sour peppers

  1. Hi there! I just watched the episode for the pork chop & found your link for the complete recipe, so thank you for that ! I am planning to make this tomorrow but i am worried about the chop being undercooked. 4 min on each side seems like a small bit of time. Will this really be cooked in such little bit of time?

    • I was in doubt when seeing the cooking time as well, so I left it a bit longer, maybe 10 minutes in total but don’t cook for too long. It’ll continue cooking a bit more after you leave it to ‘rest’. I was really surprised seeing how little time it takes to pan fry a tender, juicy pork chop. Hope you enjoy the dish as much as I do 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pork chop with sweet & sour peppers | Hobbies Chat Blog

Leave a Reply

