Pork chop with cider cream sauce and spinach

IMG_4906

For all the years I have been cooking, I don’t recall myself ever buying some pork chops. Okay, maybe once or twice, but all I did was cook them the Vietnamese way (you know, season them plenty with minced garlic, fish sauce and sugar and stuff), then serve them the Vietnamese way (with rice and steam/fried veggies or so). I couldn’t imagine how a piece of meat could taste good with no other seasoning but only salt and pepper (most Vietnamese don’t even use white sea salt as seasoning), that’s why chops and steaks tend not to be my choice of cut. Ooooh but I couldn’t be more wrong. They are the best!!!! Seasoning them lightly, then searing to lock in the moisture brings out the true flavour of the meat, and I’m now seriously in love! 

I’m having pork chops again today, with cider and cream sauce, serve with simple sauteed spinach. This recipe from BBC GoodFood is a real keeper, super simple and super tasty. Cooking with cider sounds outrageous to me, but then again, anything is possible in this culinary world, I even use Coca-Cola in my braised pork so why not cider in my sauce? I did alter the recipe a little bit, adding more onions (cause I just loveeee caramelised onion), reducing the mustard (my all time enemy) and I’m good to go 🙂
IMG_4910

IMG_4905

(I snipped off some rind there, couldn’t help it. Taking photos while you’re hungry is a pain :D)

Pork chop with cider, cream and spinach

INGREDIENTS: (for 2)

  • 2 pork chops
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 200 ml cider
  • 150 g double cream
  • 1/2 tbs Dijon mustard
  • 200 g spinach
  • Salt, peper to taste
  • Olive oil, butter to fry

METHOD:

  • To prepare the pork chop, make some cuts into the fat, then season with salt and pepper, rub well
  • Heat the oi in a frying pan, then fry the chops until browned

1

  • Remove, add the onions and cook until they are soft and caramelised

2

  • Add the cider, bring to a bubble then reduce a bit, then add the cream & mustard
  • Stir, bring to a simmer for a few minutes then put the chops back in the pan, cook through until the sauce has reduced to a desired consistency, about 10 minutes

3

  • Meanwhile, heat another skillet with butter. Add in the spinach and sautee until wilted, season to taste with salt and pepper

4

  • Serve the chops with the sauce and spinach on the side

IMG_4911

 

Enjoy your dinner,

Phuong x

8 thoughts on “Pork chop with cider cream sauce and spinach

  1. I absolutely love this meal of yours, because It has pork and I love pork and it has spinach and I adore spinach. Cider does give that extra oomph to the food. It’s like adding some red or white wine, they blend in and just make the food different. Thanks for sharing this. I have some pork chops that have been looking lonely in my freezer but I need to get the cider so that means a trip to the wine shop. Thanks for sharing and thanks for visiting my blog several times. Best wishes!!!

    • I was pretty surprised with the ‘cider effect’, I never cooked with cider before, it gave such a unique sweet and sour taste to the cream. Maybe I should open up to new experience like this more often. Hope you like this as much as I do (if you decide to run down the wine shop just for those lonely pork chops) ^^ And have a great day, it’s always a joy visiting your blog 🙂

      • No more procrastination, this meal will have to be made before the end of the week. The pork chops are patiently waiting in the fridge. i just came back to admire it. I love your photography. So refreshing!!!

Leave a Reply

