A year has gone by!!!!! My 1st blogiversary

blogiversary

I would start off my very special post by saying something super cliché: I can’t believe a year has gone by!!!!!! 

Actually, I have been blogging for some time in Vietnamese before I decided to move to a new blog, where I could sharpen my English while connecting to a wider range of food blogger. Talking about killing two birds with one stone! So, on this day last year, the journey of my kitchen of love started.

If I were to look back at how I was a year ago, I’m pretty proud to say I have grown in every aspects. My passion for food has also gone up a notch and moved towards a new direction. Me who used to cook for fun and just threw everything in as how I liked it now learn to be a bit more organised, as they say ‘mise en place’. I don’t follow the recipe rigidly no more, instead, always curious about the reason behind every technique. Well, now it takes me a whole lot of more time when I want to make something new. But after all, learning cooking and baking the textbook way is a lot more fun that I had imagined.

Then comes along with being a food blogger is the whole package of: food photography, food presentation, food hygiene, cookbooks and props. I think I’d rather spend time looking at folks and dishes now rather than bags and shoes. And only my teddy bear knows how many hours in bed I spend every night browsing recipes/techniques/reviews/cookbooks non-stop.

While no one I know could really understand my dedication towards this blog, I guess many food bloggers out there feel the same thing as I do when your blog first reached 100, then 1000, then 10000 views. Then there comes the joy when one day the blog gets record high, or when random stranger likes your post, or when someone follow you.  Every morning when I wake up, a visit, a like, a comment, a follow, all make my day.

This blog has very much become my source of encouragement and inspiration to explore more things in the kitchen. It’s like the magic Narnia wardrobe that leads me to many fellow food lovers in the world. I’ve met lots of lovely people who share the same passion and interest as I do. Thank you all you lovelies and handsome for stopping by my blog, your little gesture means a lot to me!

imageedit_3_4462323576

And as I always do when the new year comes, a little resolution wouldn’t hurt.

To bake:

  • Castella
  • Puff pastry (This has always been my fear ever since I started baking)
  • Macarons (And this toooooo!)
  • Japanese cotton cheesecake (I dropped the batter the last time I baked, never re-attemp again -.-‘)
  • Hokkaido milk bread
  • Japanese melon pan
  • French baguette
  • Ciabatta
  • Pretzel
  • Scone
  • Chiffon cake
  • Vanilla extract (to make)
  • Biscotti
  • Ambroisie
  • Baked Alaska

To cook:

  • Julia Child’s Coq au vin
  • Gordon Ramsay’s Beef Wellington
  • Chimichurri sauce
  • Paella
  • Risotto
  • Guacamole

To buy:

  • Professional Cooking
  • Professional Baking
  • McGee on Food and Cooking
  • Eleven Madison Park
  • The French Laundry Cookbook
  • Mastering the Art of French Cooking
  • The Professional Chef
  • Bouchon Bakery
  • I love New York: Ingredients and Recipes

And to attend a cookery course (if I save up enough money T..T).

Well that’s all for now. I’ll work harder to improve this year. Let’s check back in a year’s time!

Happy birthday My kitchen of love!

IMG_5054

8 thoughts on “A year has gone by!!!!! My 1st blogiversary

  1. Congratulations and Happy Blogversary!

    Great list. I love making foodie bucket lists.

    I made Risotto for the first time last month and I’m happy I did. It wasn’t difficult at all. I wish you luck on your big list and I look forward to reading about your experiences.

    I hope you submit them to Our Growing Edge. It’s all about trying new things and your extensive list will be perfect.

    More info here:
    http://www.inlinkz.com/wpview.php?id=277770

    • Thank you Genie! That’s a great suggestion, I didn’t think about submitting the list to Our Growing Edge (it wasn’t an achievement or anything, just a list for the lazy me :p)
      I’ll be making risotto very very soon 🙂

  2. Phuong! congratulations! I’m reading your post and it all sounds so familiar 🙂 Your blog gets better and getter. I still owe you some muffins btw! Beautiful photos, and that last one is very striking . Love it!

Leave a Reply

