Chocolate cupcakes

IMG_5047

I wanted my first blogiversary to be the star, so I decided to leave the details of my scrumptious looking chocolate cupcakes for today’s entry. The recipe is from (guess what?) The cupcake, a very cute pinksy cupcake book that was a gift from my friend. I am so thankful for the book really, now all my creations finally look like cupcakes. They used to look like this 3 years ago:

DSC01949

They have now evolved into this:

IMG_5058

Chocolate cupcakes

INGREDIENTS: (for 12-14)

  • 115 g self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbs cocoa powder
  • 115 g butter, softened
  • 115 g caster sugar
  • 1 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 55 g dark chocolate, melted

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven to 180 C. Line the cupcake tray
  • Sift the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder in a large bowl
  • Add butter, sugar, eggs and use an electric mixer to beat together until smooth
  • Fold in the melted chocolate

1

  • Spoon the mixture into the liners. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the toothpick inserted into the cakes comes out clean
  • Transfer to a wire rack and left cool

IMG_5037

Chocolate frosting

INGREDIENTS:

  • 150 g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 200 ml double cream
  • 140 g butter, softened
  • 120 g icing sugar

METHOD:

  • Heat the cream in the sauce pan until boiling then pour over the chocolate and stir until smooth. Leave to cool, stir occasionally
  • In another bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  • Beat in the chocolate mixture
  • Chill for 15-20 minutes in the fridge

2

To make one beautiful finish, pipe plenty of frosting over each cupcake. Decorate however you like.

I have a little confession to make: I hate buttercream! Too greasy and too sweet to my taste. I normally prefer whipped cream or cream cheese much more as a topping. However, I am in love with this frosting. The balance of the cream lightness and butter smoothness hits me right on the spot. And I don’t even need to comment how glossy it looks sitting on top of my very chocolatey cupcakes.
IMG_5048
IMG_5063

And now I’m off for yet another night in library T____T”  (I’m supposed to go but laziness has taken over)

Have a sweet week everyone,

Love,

Phuong

6 thoughts on “Chocolate cupcakes

  1. Gorgeous cupcakes! The frosting reminds me of soft serve ice cream. It looks so glossy and soft.

    I had never head of buttercream but realised that we know it as mock cream here. I haven’t seen or eaten mock cream since the 90s! It’s not looked upon fondly here. Cream cheese frosting seems to be the thing on everyone’s lips. What do you think of cream cheese frosting?

    • Thank you Genie! You always make me happy with all your lovely comments ^^
      I used to hate buttercream when I was a child and I thought it has become ancient story too, but then I was really surprised finding the frosting being featured (and favourite) on many sites. Still not very much to my liking though!
      Cream cheese seems to be the best cupcake frosting, I like the sweet & sour balance much more than sweet on sweet.

Leave a Reply

