Coconut bread

IMG_5111
It’s been a really long while since my last loaf of bread. The last one I baked was cinnamon pull apart bread, and I think this was already half a year ago.

IMG_3796It’s true that kneading is quite a tiring job, but once you get a hang of, it’s quite a fun chore to perform. Making bread is actually not that complex and not much work to do, and so, the only reason left for my laziness to keep winning over is the time factor. Donating 4-5 hours, then another half an hour with the ‘photoshoot’ while it only takes a few good bites for all that effort to be gone, that doesn’t sound very doable to me.

Then again,  even with all the cons above, I still miss playing with yeast, I miss the smell and warmth of freshly baked bread. So I wait, and wait, and wait for that one good day to materialise my dream and tick off the long to-bake list, and the glory day (or shall I say gloomy, my perfect weather for kneading bread) has finally come. One good comment from my supervisor and I’m all ready to postpone whatever it is that I still have to do with my dissertation and fall back to my bread flour and instant yeast.

IMG_5105

The recipe I use is from Linh @ Kokotaru, with her very cute and informative website. I have tried many of her recipes, and there were mixed results of successes and failures. This coconut bread is one of my brilliant success and I can’t praise it enough. They came out super soft and the use of coconut milk in the ingredients really intensify the unique scent and flavour.
IMG_5108

Coconut bread

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2/3 cup coconut milk
  • 2/3 cup warm water
  • 2 tbs butter, melted
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbs milk powder
  • 4 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbs desiccated coconut
  • 4 cup bread flour

METHOD:

  • In a large bowl, mix sugar, milk powder and yeast together. Add in milk, water, butter and egg, mix until incorporated. Add in salt
  • Then gradually add in coconut, bread flour and mix well to form a dough
  • Transfer to a floured surface, knead well until the dough form an elastic ball. if you have a stand mixer, simply add all the ingredients and knead with a dough hook

1

  • Cover with moist cloth & leave to rise in warm place in about an hour or an hour and a half until the dough has doubled in size

2

  • Gently press down the dough, knead for a few times then leave to rest for 10 minutes
  • Divide into smaller proportions, shape into buns, cover with moist cloth then leave to rise for a second time, about another hour

3

  • Brush the top with a beaten egg
  • Preheat the oven at 175 C and bake for 25-30 minutes

I was a tad lazy in shaping the bun properly, so they didn’t look as pretty as they should be, but tasted good either way.
IMG_5112

And lastly, a big shout-out to Liz, my blogger friend at My favourite pastime, I finally knead!!!!! 😀

Lots of love,

Phuong x

9 thoughts on “Coconut bread

  1. Pingback: Coconut Bread | Recipe ArchiveRecipe Archive

Leave a Reply

