Chocolate chip cookies

IMG_6755

I’m BACK!!!! Anyone missing me? 🙂

Here’s a quick update on why I’ve been away the last 4 months: I’m back to Vietnam for good and still adapting. It took me 2 months to get myself an oven (YES!!!! My own oven finally!) and get baking again. However, baking ingredients here are rather pricey as many of them has to be imported, and the choices are quite limited. Baking: not so often. As for cooking? My mom doesn’t like (or rather, she doesn’t eat) what I cook, while I just hate eating rice everyday. Cooking: not at all (except for instant noodle).

After months of boredom, I’ve decided it’s time to come back, for a proper ‘photo shoot’ session and a proper post. I’m not a fan of any kind of cookies, that’s why you don’t get to see them a lot on my blog. Still, my craving for chocolate cookies happens from time to time, and my idea of cookie perfection involves ‘crunchiness’ and ‘chocolatey’. The first time I tasted the American ones, I thought they have been on the shelves for ages! But Meo loves it! He has an insane taste for that weirdly chewy chocolate chip cookies and sadly, they are not very popular on any Vietnamese bakery.

So I made them! As a good surprise for him on our first Valentine together, but they turned out exactly to my liking. Arghhh! The last time I tried to make that big crunchy cookie, it turned out flat & squishy. I closely followed the recipe on BBC GoodFood which claims to produce ‘chocolate-studded biscuits with a soft squishy middle’. Unfortunately, I have no idea where I went wrong, turns out good anyway, just not exactly to my intention. But if you love to have an easy recipe of a damn good batch of cookies to munch on, this is the one!

IMG_6748

By the way, hating sweet stuff as I do, the amount of sugar has been cut down significantly. If you have a really sweet tooth, do add more, or a lot more. As for the chocolate, I used 50 g chocolate chips and a 100 g bar of dark chocolate, broken into chunks

Chocolate chip cookies

INGREDIENTS:

  • 150 g salted butter, softened
  • 50 g light muscovado sugar
  • 50 g granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 225 g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 150 g chocolate chips/chunks

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven to 190 C / 170 C fan. Line the baking trays with baking paper
  • Beat the butter and sugar until light and creamy. Beat in vanilla extract and egg
  • 1Sieve flour and baking soda over the mixture and mix with a wooden spoon. Stir in chocolate chips and mix well

2

  • Use a spoon, place small moulds of dough well apart onto the baking tray, lightly spread and flatten them

IMG_6731

  • Bale for 10-12 minutes until the cookies turn light brown. Leave on the trays for a couple of minutes then transfer to a cooling rack

I packed them into a cute little bag as a Vday gift for him, finally I baked something good and Meo can taste it. Though we’ve been dating for almost 5 years now, this is actually our first Valentine celebrating together. The waiting game is over, yippie!!!

IMG_6732

I’ll be testing a few more batches to find out the perfect chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe like the one I’ve eaten in New York, could take a few more times and a lot more cookies to devour 🙂 If you have one in hand, I’d love love love to know.

Also, this post is a contributions towards this month’s Our Growing Edge, hosted by Kindra from Calfornia Cavegirl Kindra. I’ve been away for so long I actually missed these monthly blogging event badly.

our-growing-edge-banner

Love,

Phuong

IMG_6750

8 thoughts on “Chocolate chip cookies

    • I don’t have such a sweet tooth either, in most cases, I think you could confidently cut down sugar without really much effects to the texture of the cakes. But I guess for these cookies of mine, it does have quite an impact, I need to find a fix :p

  1. Baked with love! Baking by someone who loves you always tastes the best. I’m not a good baker but my sister and mother are and they bake for my sweet-tooth husband very often. I’m lucky they do this for him so I don’t have to! Thanks for submitting this to Our Growing Edge this month.

    • Can’t agree with you more! It feels so good to bake & cook then have someone happily finish it all. My mother doesn’t bake but she cooks, I guess my love for home cooked food grows in the family

Leave a Reply

