Our anniversary cake ~ Matcha and red bean mousse

August has finally come and gone, much to my eager waiting, longing and a touch of melancholy feeling. 3 years ago, Meo and I marked the last few hours of August 2009 with a kiss, our very first one. And that was how our friendship of 9 years finally ended, as we enter a whole new stage of our life.

3 years is probably nothing compared to couples who had spent their whole lives together (How I wish that would be my little happy ending too), but it was a constant struggle for long distance relationship at birth like ours. US-UK, Bristol-New York, it was never easy, especially for young adults like us, who obviously are still trying to figure out the way of life. Continuous argument, endless tears and lots of mistakes, we slowly learnt the lesson of compromising and commitment. 3 years feels so short, yet it was really long, as least long enough for us to have grown a great deal, as person and as lovers, and I’m grateful for the time we spent together and apart. Our relationship is indeed a series of reuniting and parting, sometimes I even thought, airports have become our favourite background. Yet they said distance make the heart grow fonder, didn’t they?

And so, another anniversary celebrating with the help of Viber, Yahoo, Skype. Chat tools rule! I decided to venture into a whole new aspect of baking that remains untouched for me, for it was just too time consuming and seemed complicated for a newbie like me – Mousse cake. While making mousse seems to be one of the easiest thing to do in the kitchen, making a layered cake is not that simple. I did some planning before hand to ensure my cake has time to set properly and even sketch down how it would look like. I want my cake (for him) to be perfect, even though (as always) the recipient is only able to see through internet and the only thing he could compliment is: “It’s pretty, it looks decilious”. I feel so gutted my beloved boyfriend hardly get a chance to say: “It IS tasty”. That has to wait then.

IMG_2226

I remember he said some time ago, that he liked Matcha latte from Starbucks and I just automatically assume that he likes green tea. So on any occasion possible, I would try to make something out of it, and I honestly couldn’t think of any better company than red bean. They each have unique flavour yet together, they make one perfect taste, that’s how I wish for my relationship to be. The idea of matcha and red bean mousse is just so intriguing I couldn’t put off and decided that it would be my anniversary cake this year.

IMG_2216

The recipe is for a 15cm, or 6″, cake tin.

Matcha génoise (adapted from Meringue Desserts and L’Atelier Vi)

  • 2 eggs
  • 40 g granulated sugar
  • 35 g plain flour
  • 7 g matcha powder
  • 20g butter, melted and cooled
  1. Preheat oven to 180 C degree
  2. Sift together flour and matcha powder, set aside
  3. Use a handheld mixer, beat the egg and sugar in a bowl until blended. Place the bowl over a pot of boiling water, continue to beat until it becomes foamy and warm to the touch
  4. Remove from heat, continue to beat until it’s doubled in size and soft peak forms
  5. Gradually and gently fold in the flour and matcha powder until incorporated
  6. Add in the melted butter and quickly fold in
  7. Pour the butter into the baking pan, gently tap pan slightly on the counter to remove any air bubbles
  8. Bake for about 15 – 18 minutes. Take out and leave on rack to cool
  9. Trim off top of the cake to make a flat surface

Red bean mousse (adapted from Meringue Desserts)

  • 5 g powdered gelatin
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 200 g chunky azuki beans/red beans (for how to cook red beans, refer here)
  • 180 g whipping cream
  1. Place the gelatin and water in a bowl
  2. Place this over a boiling pot of water until the gelatin dissolves
  3. Stir in the azuki beans and mix thoroughly
  4. Whisk cream until soft peak forms
  5. Gently fold the cream into the azuki beans mixture

Matcha mousse (adapted from Nordljus)

  • 6 g sheet gelatin
  • 100 ml milk
  • 10 g matcha powder
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 egg white
  • 40 g sugar
  • 80 ml double cream
  1. Soak the gelatin in cold water
  2. Pour the milk and add the matcha powder in a pot, set on low heat
  3. In a bowl, cream the egg yolk and 20 g sugar until pale in colour
  4. Gradually pour the milk into the egg mixture
  5. Sieve the liquid into a pan, then place over low heat until the temperature reaches 85 C degree
  6. Remove from heat, add the rinsed gelatin sheet, stir to dissolve and let cool
  7. Whisk the cream to soft peaks and fold into the matcha mixture
  8. Whip the egg white and the rest of the sugar into meringue and fold into the matcha mixture

Matcha mirror

  • 7 g powdered gelatin
  • 1/3 cup cold water
  • 1/4 tsp matcha powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp caster sugar
  1. Mix the gelatin with cold water, bring over low heat to disssolve
  2. Stir in matcha powder and caster sugar
  3. Leave cool

CAKE ASSEMBLY

  1. In a mousse ring (or a springform pan), butter and sugar it properly, or wrap around with baking paper, place the matcha génoise cake on the bottom
  2. Pour the red bean mousse over the layer and use a spatula to spread evenly
  3. Leave the mousse in the fridge to set, for about 3 hours
  4. Pour the matcha mousse over the set base, spread evenly with a spatula
  5. Leave it to set for another 3 hours
  6. Pour the glaze over the mousse and smoothen the surface, refrigerate overnight
  7. Next day, unmold the cake from the ring, decorate and serve

As this requires a bit of planning, it is suggested that you bake the cake and red bean mousse two days before, then matcha mousse and the glaze the next day, set in the fridge for one night and voilà, matcha & red bean mousse is ready.

Some tips:

  • When you are ready to serve the cake, wrap a hot towel around the pan to ensure the outer ring of the cake doesn’t stick to the pan
  • Dip the knife blade into hot water before cut. Wipe and rewarm before each slice. A hot blade would ensure a ‘clean’ cut for a better looking mousse cake slice.

IMG_22181

I’ve never been a good artist, everything I drew hurt my eyes just by looking. However, I did a pretty good job creating some ‘art’ with chocolate for the first time. I could be as creative as I want in the kitchen ^^

IMG_2181

And our 3 years dating anniversary ended with a hint of disappointment since we didn’t get to spend much time together, more or less, he couldn’t enjoy the cake that I spent days to make and decorate. But shouldn’t I get used to those things by now? Being physically by myself and trying to make the best out of everything, at least we are still together and very much in love. I read somewhere that ‘happiness is being married to your best friend’. And so we tell ourselves everyday, be patient and we’ll create our own fairy tale happily ever after ending.

They don’t know how long it takes

Waiting for a love like this

Every time we say goodbye

I wish we had one more kiss

I’ll wait for you I promise you, I will

P.S. My 1st photo submission ever on Foodgawker and it went through! Yay!!!!!! Made my perfect night ❤

39 thoughts on “Our anniversary cake ~ Matcha and red bean mousse

    • Hi Shinchan, once the red bean mousse is set, you simply pour over the matcha mousse, spread it evenly and again, leave to set in the fridge. Hope it helps : )

      • Hi Miu, thank you for your reply. So after step 5 in matcha mousse “Sieve the liquid into a pan, then place over low heat until the the cream and egg white were folded into the matcha mixture”, I’d imagine with gelatin added, the mixture is taking on a shape of the pan, and thus it cannot be “poured” on top of the red bean mousse. I would like to know how matcha mixture should look like after steps 1-8. i.e., how do I tell if I made it correctly?

      • Hi Shinchan,
        Even after you add the gelatin in, the mixture still take the liquid form so you could pour it into whatever pan you want. Only after it’s cooled in the fridge that it solidify into ‘mousse’ texture. After step 1-8, it should be somewhat a thick, creamy mixture : )

  1. Hi Miu,
    I am waiting for my springform pan to arrive. But I am excited. Can you also recommend a tiramisu recipe? I trust whatever you come up with than what I can find on the web.

      • Hi Miu,
        I made the matha genoise per your recipe. I found it took 20 minutes to get the whole egg-sugar mixture to form peak. Beating the whole egg is definitely not as easy as beating the eggwhite. I don’t know understand about placing the bowl over boiling water. I did it but I was afraid it might cook the egg. What’s the reason for this?

        Anyway the genoise is in the 25cm springform pan. In the next few days I will work on the red bean mouse, matcha mouse and mirror. I’d be happy if my final product looks half as nice as yours.

      • Hi KC,

        I can’t wait to see your mousse cake : )

        The low heat from a bain marie will alow for sugar to dissolve fully and achieve maximal volume when you whisk the eggs, and you’ll have a ‘high’ looking genoise. Boil the water first then allow it to simmer while whisking & the eggs won’t cook into lumpy pieces ^^

  2. Hi Miu,
    I failed at matcha mousse. First, I don’t have gelatin sheet so I used gelatin powder instead (6g). I added it in step 6. Then at step 8, after I fold eggwhite into the mixture, the whole things became very lumpy.

    Also matcha mouse and red bean mouse didn’t gel together; they just peeled off, unlike your photo with a piece staying on the fork. I think its because after 3 hours of chilling in the fridge, the top of red bean mouse became dry. An alternative explanation could be that gelatin is too much. Although I used exact amount as described.

    Cake is the easiest part. I have no problem making it. That’s the only consolation.

    Any suggestions?

    • Hi KC,

      This was the first (and only) mousse I’ve made so far, so obviously I have not a lot of experience in this area. I chilled the red bean mousse over night, so I think the problem may lie in your matcha mousse.

      If you replace the gelatin sheet by powder, then a 6g sheet should be equivalent to 2 1/4 tsp powder. When working with the powder, sprinkle it over cold water or liquid, let stand for a few minutes, then gently heat it, either over a pot or in microwave, stir to dissolve. Only then that you pour the gelatin into the mixture, then there won’t be lumps from gelatin.

      As for the egg white, quickly introduce 1/3 of the egg white into the matcha mixture first, mix well, then fold the rest in. The only problem I had when making this was a few matcha lumps (which you could see from the pictures).

      That’s all I could think of. Hope it’s all right the next round : )

      • Hi Miu,
        Thank you for your quick reply. I think its beautiful that your all four layers (cake, red beans, matcha mousse, and mirror) sticks together as your picture shows. So how much water should I use to dissolve the 2 1/4 tsp gelatin powder?

      • Hi KC

        I would say you save some milk from the recipe, it doesn’t need much liquid to ‘bloom’, maybe 1/8 cup or 25ml or so for the gelatin (sorry I’m not being very precise and experienced here) :p

  3. Hi Miu, how many bloom was your gelatin sheet in this recipe. I used gelatin powder pack by Knox and I think it is 250 bloom. Maybe that’s too hard.

  4. Hi Miu,
    How many bloom is is the gelatin sheet you used? Since I used gelatin powder pack made by Knox, I think it is 250 Bloom. Perhaps it is too strong and thus I really should use gelatin sheet.

  5. Hi Miu, is the mousse still be a bit ‘soft’ after the over night? I mean not totally very solid type. I tried this cake but is not easy. Yours are so good .

    • Hi Patricia,

      I’m not sure how ‘soft’ you are relating to, but for this cake, it should have a mousse-like texture, kinda springy and hold its shape well after chilling overnight (or maybe 3-4 hours or so). You could try lightly pressing your finger on top of it to check : )

  6. Hi! this is a beautiful cake! I’m thinking of trying it out but can i ask what size pan to use when baking the cake and then what size pan/mould to use when assembling the cake? thankyou!

  7. Pingback: Our anniversary cupcake – Spiced apple cupcake with cinnamon cream cheese frosting | My kitchen of love ~

  8. Ive been looking for some ideas to use my matcha powder. This dessert looks so professional is amazing. Making desserts is probably my biggest weakness in the kitchen, I have a hard time imagining them. I tried making green tea ice cream and failed miserably… maybe you’d know of a good recipe for making that? 🙂 let me know!

  9. Hi, I live in the USA and I don’t think I could find any sheet gelatin in this area. Can I substitute powdered gelatin in place of the gelatin sheets? If so, how do I make the conversion? Thanks in advance.

    • Hi Winnie,
      I’m no expert in this conversion business, from what I looked up from the internet, 4 sheets of gelatin can roughly be substituted by 1 tbs of powdered gelatin. It’s not exact though, so personally, I think it’s best if you could find some sheets to use. Hope this helps 🙂

  10. Hi Miu! Thanks for sharing this recipe, it’s so helpful because it’s exactly what I’m looking for! I hope the two of you will be together for ever, and stay sweet ! ^^
    By the way, I have some to ask.

    1. When I bake the Matcha Genoise, which temperature should I set?
    2.When the Matcha Mousse and Red Bean Mousse are done, should I keep in the refrigerator while I continue preparing the other ingredient or just leave in on the table in room temperature? Because I’ll have to make this cake done in 1 day.
    3.The Matcha Mirror is the top layer of the cake, right?
    4. After pouring the Matcha Mousse over the set base, it’s leave it in the refrigerator for 3 hours as when the Red Mousse are done be pour on the Matcha Genoise?
    5.If I want to make it bigger size, it’s ok for me to double up every amount of the ingredients?

    These are my questions. 🙂

    • Hi Asther, I’m terribly sorry for the late reply, hope it’s still of some help to you.
      1. The temperature should be 180 C degree, or about 350 F
      2. I suggest you keep the mousse in the fridge until needed for more prepping/decorating or eating. Cos when the mousse is left too long in room temperature, gelatin will start to melt down
      3. It is. Or you could make it to be any layer of your choice. I wanted it to be a top layer purely for decoration purposes
      4. Yes, just double or triple the amount of ingredients if you wish to ^^
      Happy baking!

  11. Pingback: Matcha Red Bean Mousse Cake | Homemade Delights

Leave a comment