Bill’s coconut bread

IMG_5670
IMG_5666

After a long while neglecting my oven (and even my kitchen), it suddenly comes into my rescue. It all started with the missed grocery delivery yesterday that we now end up with only a cabbage and a few tomatoes left in the fridge. So here I am, amid all the exams revision and dissertation, baking to fill up my growling stomach and to satisfy my craving for snack at late night studying.

I choose a really easy yet very tasty and fulfilling bread – Bill’s coconut bread. I’ve never been to Australia (which has been on top of my travel list for quite some time now), but from what I’ve read, this bread has caused a huge rave in one of the most iconic restaurants of Sydney – Bills. This recipe from White Polar of lanvaobep is very popular in the Vietnamese baker community and I’ve been baking it again and again every year during revision (I have no idea why! Very comforting maybe?). I’ve never tried the original Bill’s coconut bread so I can’t really compare, but this quick bread is a real star on its own. The scent of coconut is not overpowering and the bread itself is not overly sweet, with a nice crunchy crust and a soft texture. And what I love most about it? Super easy and super quick to make!

IMG_5668

Bill’s coconut bread

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 eggs
  • 300 ml milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 275 g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 150 g sugar
  • 150 g desiccated coconut
  • 75 g butter, melted

METHOD:

  • Preheat 180 C. Grease and dust or line the pan with baking paper
  • Beat egg, milk and vanilla extract together
  • In another bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, sugar and coconut, mix well together

1

  • Make a well, gradually add in butter and egg mixture, stir until incorporated

2

  • Bake for 50 mins – 1hr until the toothpick inserted comes out clean or until the bread is golden brown

IMG_5665
While searching for the restaurant’s menu in Australia, I have made a huge discovery of my own: There’s one Bill’s restaurant in London!!!!! I have already bookmarked and will definitely stop by next week on my post-exam trip. Will tell you then how close this recipe is to the famous toasted coconut bread 🙂

Though I have made this quick bread so many times before, this is such a wonderful recipe that I just can’t keep to myself. This post is going into this month’s Our Growing Edge, hosted by Marija from Palachinka. I told Genie I will enter the foodie bucket list from my blogiversary post, but in the end I’m just so selfish I want to keep that special post link-free. So this beautiful bread will especially go in it stead 🙂 I’m sorryyyyyy!

our-growing-edge-banner

Love,

Phuong

IMG_5664

5 thoughts on “Bill’s coconut bread

  1. Pingback: Our Growing Edge, August 2013 Roundup | Palachinka

Leave a comment